College Sweethearts

hearts  #HeartsOnTheHill hearts

We’re in the midst of the #HeartsOnTheHill social media campaign, and I enjoy reading everyone else’s stories, so seems like an appropriate time to get a little “mushy.”

Craig and I were college sweethearts at WKU, but we had actually started dating even before we were students on The Hill. I’ve known him since elementary school (although I always thought he was quite the snob, which I still love to tease him about). He was a year ahead of me in school, and his senior year he was actually dating one of my very best friends, while I, too, had a steady boyfriend. Once we were both out of those respective relationships, we became very good friends, and eventually started dating. He went to Lindsey Wilson College right after high school, and I finished my senior year. Of course, when I decided to go to WKU, he transferred, because he just had to follow me (I love to tease him about that, too).

We got engaged in the spring of my sophomore year at WKU and married a few months later at the ripe ol’ ages of 20 and 21. I still wonder what our parents were thinking letting us get married when we were practically babies! And, in case you were wondering, the friend he had dated in high school was one of my bridesmaids.

We both graduated and landed jobs here in Bowling Green. A few years later, “Biggs, party of two” became a party of three when Alex came along. And four years after that, we became “Biggs, party of four” when Mason made his grand entrance into the world.

Now…24+ years after we married, we both work at WKU, our boys are Hilltoppers right alongside us, and I guess you could say that we’ve “matured” from college sweethearts to middle-age sweethearts. And that’s just fine with me.

2 thoughts on “College Sweethearts

  1. Great story Stacey, see how long you can stretch out this relationship. I actually knew who Ginny was when we were about 7 or 8, but didn’t become friend-friends until high school. I was a farm boy 10 miles out of town and she was a city girl (although the city was only 1000 people). We were in the same class but didn’t officially date until I reached 16 (a family rule that I now think is a great rule, but I’m mostly alone in that). I went to the big university in far off Lincoln while she attended Jr. College locally. After a year she moved to Lincoln. We then continued our relationship and between my Jr-Sr year we were married (both age 21). Next July we will celebrate 52 years of marriage. So you see, you guys are just getting started…and the best is yet to come.

Leave a Reply

