Shortcut thank-you notes…no thanks.

I’m all for doing things efficiently, but there is a fine line between being efficient and just cutting corners for the sake of taking the easy way out.

While searching for new “productivity” apps tonight I came across an app called “Thank You Job Interview Note Email Generator.” My apologies to the developer, but I would never recommend such an app to anyone who is job hunting. Worse yet, the app instructed users to run the most recent upgrade which “Corrected numerous grammatical and spelling errors.” Really? I can’t believe a developer would launch an app of this nature with those kinds of errors in the first place!

If, after interviewing someone, I happened to get a so-called thank-you note that was obviously “generated” via a shortcut app, that job candidate would no longer be a candidate. Write a short note or send a quick email, but make it a genuine acknowledgement – not a canned response. Anything less will reek of laziness and may be just as bad as sending no thank-you note at all.

Would love to hear from others on this topic. Is a thank-you note after an interview important to help a job candidate stand out? Does it matter what kind of note it is, or is the fact that they sent anything at all good enough?

One thought on “Shortcut thank-you notes…no thanks.

  1. A thank you note from interviewee identifies the person as polite, if sincere, and may signal a continued interest in the job. I appreciated receiving one, but since I was the person that requested the person come for an interview I never felt it was required. I sort personal hand written note I feel is best, or a brief email may also be OK, but a form letter is a turn-off to me. Actually, the person, their actions in the interview, their experience in like positions, their references and my perception of their interest in the job, determined my hiring decision. Whether or not they sent a thank-you note had little if any influence.

Leave a Reply

