Don’t forget to be thankful during the holiday overload

Halloween is over except for the mounds of candy that my gorilla – er, my son, brought home last night.  After I picked out all the empty wrappers from his goody bag (wonder how those got there?), I “assisted” him with rifling through the treats to see what swag he had scored.  I declared that all of the chocolate was to be mine, but that didn’t work out so well for me.  That’s OK – I don’t need it anyway.

So now we’ve moved into November and toward the holidays that are just around the corner. The store shelves have been stocked with Christmas decorations for weeks already, and fake trees can be found at every turn.  I love Christmas – I really do. In fact, I’ve been known to whip out the Christmas music in the middle of summer just to get a quick fix.

But as much as I enjoy Christmas, I think it’s important not to overlook Thanksgiving.  We have so much for which to be thankful, and there is a whole day set aside for just that!  Enjoying the turkey and dressing is just one part of the day – I want my kids to understand that enjoying time with family and making a special effort to give thanks for all that we have is important, too!  And for those lucky enough to have the day off of work, that’s just another reason to be thankful.  This is my favorite time of year with all of the holidays looming in the near future, and amidst all the chaos I am looking forward to celebrating each and every one!

Come to think of it, every day could be Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Don’t forget to be thankful during the holiday overload

  1. You have taken the words right out of my mouth. I LOVE Christmas…the reason for the season, the movies, the Christmas songs, and everything about it…BUT I refuse to put up my Christmas tree or any decorations before Thanksgiving.

  2. Staci, you make me feel so good every time I read your post. You are a true inspiration to all of us in the working world, just with your giving spirit and your gift of words. Have a wonderful week, my dear. Keep on lifting our spirits with your gifts.

Leave a Reply

