Gizmos, gadgets, & whatzits galore

I am such a geek sometimes, and I don’t even care to admit it (usually). I have always loved anything to do with technology…I got my first computer when I was only about 10 years old. It was a Commodore 64 for those of you old enough to remember such a device. Why in the world would anyone need more than 64kb of memory? Ha Ha! I would sit in front of the family TV for hours playing on that thing. It was probably the best gift Santa ever brought to me!

Now I have all sorts of gadgets including a Kindle, an iMac, iPhone, iPad, iPod, Macbook, laptop, and Netbook among other things. In some ways these gizmos make life a little easier but on the flip side, it’s now way too easy to work 24/7, and sometimes it’s tempting to communicate with family via text, chat or Facebook instead of walking into the other room to actually speak to them in person.

The one old-school thing that I just can’t seem to cut ties with is my Franklin Covey planner (mostly because of some bad experiences I had with PDAs a few years back). But I am hoping to finally transition away from the big heavy planner, so I got a new bluetooth keyboard for the iPad making it much easier to take notes and then e-mail them to myself as needed. And of course with the iPad, I have Facebook and Angry Birds and other awesome apps, as well as the all-important calendar, right at my fingertips.

Yep, I’m a geek, but I can’t help it. I’m just like a kid who loves to get new toys!

Leave a Reply

